SR-22 Insurance in Utah: Find the Cheapest Rates

SR-22 Insurance in Utah: Find the Cheapest Rates

Find Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Your Area

Currently insured?

Utah drivers need an SR-22 certificate from their insurers if they are caught driving without insurance. An SR-22 certificate, sometimes called SR-22 insurance or SR-22 coverage, is an addition to your policy to prove you have the mandated minimum coverage.

In many states, SR-22 coverage is required after a DUI, but in Utah, it is primarily a penalty for those who drive without insurance. Getting an SR-22 certificate can cost as little as $15 per year, though we found auto insurance rates increased an average of 12% for minimum coverage with SR-22.

Farm Bureau offers the best car insurance rates with an SR-22 in Utah, $672 per year for minimum coverage, 28% cheaper than average.

When do you need SR-22 insurance in Utah?

Utah drivers will most commonly need SR-22 coverage if they are ticketed or get into an accident and do not have insurance. In those situations, your license can be suspended, and you will need to file your SR-22 form as part of the process of getting it back.

SR-22 is required by courts after a DUI, reckless driving or other violations on the road, but in Utah, it is primarily required in situations where a driver does not have insurance. You can get several kinds of SR-22 coverage ⁠— owner, operator, owner operator ⁠— and each covers you in specific situations.

SR-22 type
Driving your vehicle
Driving a vehicle owned by someone else
Operator i

Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Utah

Drivers who don't own a car but have been cited for driving without insurance in Utah must procure non-owner SR-22 coverage to be able to drive legally. A policy that includes that certificate means you can drive vehicles not owned by members of your household.

The price of adding non-owner SR-22 is often the same as standard SR-22, which covers your own vehicle. However, some companies will not offer non-owner SR-22 coverage, so you might have to shop with higher-risk insurers

What is the average cost of SR-22 insurance in Utah?

Adding an SR-22 certificate to your car insurance policy in Utah raises minimum coverage rates to $929 per year, on average. That's a 12% increase, or $97 more per year, for basic coverage and an SR-22 certificate.

Difference in cost with SR-22 insurance in Utah

Depending on which company you choose, you could see your rates rise as much as 28%. Geico did not have an increase in price, but every other insurer we looked at raised rates by at least $15 per year.

Who offers the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Utah?

Farm Bureau has the cheapest widely available SR-22 insurance in Utah, with a rate of $672 per year. That represents an increase of $109 per year, on the higher end among the state's major insurers, but Farm Bureau already has some of Utah's lowest rates.

SR-22 car insurance companies in Utah

Find Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Utah

Currently insured?
No spam. No hassle. No hidden costs.

USAA offers the lowest rates overall, at $338 per year, but it is only available to members of the U.S. military and some military family members. Nationwide, Allstate and USAA had the lowest price increases, all less than $30 per year for adding SR-22.

Without SR-22
With SR-22
Farm Bureau Insurance$562$672
State Farm$749$815
American Family$1,105$1,270

USAA is only available to current and former military members and their families.

Frequently asked questions

What is SR-22 insurance in Utah?

SR-22 refers to the certificate a driver needs to acquire to drive legally in Utah after being caught driving without insurance. In many states, it's required after a DUI, but in Utah, SR-22 is primarily for cases of driving after an insurance lapse.

How much is SR-22 insurance in Utah?

The average price of SR-22 insurance in Utah is $929 per year for minimum coverage. Farm Bureau offers the lowest widely available rates, at $672 per year.

Does USAA offer SR-22 insurance?

Yes, USAA offers SR-22 insurance. The company has the lowest rates overall, but they are only available to members of the military and their family members.


We collected auto insurance quotes from nine companies across every ZIP code in Utah. Quotes were for a 30-year-old man with average credit and Utah's minimum coverage limits.

  • $25,000 per person/$65,000 per accident of bodily injury liability
  • $15,000 of property damage liability per accident
  • $3,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per accident

ValuePenguin used Quadrant Information Services to gather insurance rate data. Information was publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used only for comparative purposes — your rates may be different.

Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.