Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes
Virginia drivers recently convicted of a serious driving violation, such as driving uninsured or manslaughter, are often required to file an SR-22 or FR-44. Both SR-22 and FR-44 insurance provide proof of insurance coverage that complies with Virginia's minimum car insurance requirements; however, FR-44 insurance is typically required for Virginia drivers that have been convicted specifically of a DUI or a DWI. Insurers will file the SR-22 or FR-44 form on your behalf and likely charge a fee for doing so.
Additionally, both SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Virginia cost more than standard car insurance policies, as carriers view drivers with prior driving violations to be higher risks to insure.
Read on to learn about SR-22 and FR-44 requirements in Virginia and for how long you may need to carry these coverages.
How much are SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Virginia?
Both SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in Virginia cost more than standard car insurance policies. The cost increase is due to insurers treating those forms as a sign of riskier driving behaviors, which leads them to charge higher premiums. FR-44 liability coverage requirements are double those of SR-22 filings, making FR-44 insurance more expensive.
The rates for SR-22 or FR-44 insurance will vary significantly between insurers in Virginia. For our sample insurance companies, the average prices for SR-22 insurance varied by more than $1,000 per year.
Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes
We have provided a full list of annual average car insurance quotes to compare a 30-year-old male with no SR-22 against a 30-year-old male with an SR-22 filing and prior DUI, along with the percent change in annual average quotes for each insurer.
Minimum coverage car insurance policies in Virginia cost an average of $607 per year, or $51 per month. A single DUI on your driving record, however, can increase car insurance quotes by as much as 50% to 100%, depending on your carrier and where you live.
- If, for instance, a typical quote is $600 in Richmond, SR-22 insurance due to a DUI could cost as much as $1,200.
- An FR-44 quote in Virginia would be even more expensive given the increased coverage requirements.
To find cheap SR-22 or FR-44 insurance in Virginia, try to compare rates from at least three insurers. Every auto insurance company evaluates risk and prices premiums differently, so getting several quotes is an effective way to find cheap SR-22 or FR-44 insurance.
It's also always a good idea to ask your insurer about potential discounts. Virginia drivers may still be eligible for rate reductions based on factors such as the car they drive and any defensive driving courses they've taken.
What is SR-22 insurance in Virginia, and when is it required?
An SR-22 filing in Virginia provides local drivers with proof of insurance coverage or legal recognition that they carry the minimum liability insurance requirements in Virginia.
Virginia's liability car insurance coverage requirements for an SR-22 are:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $20,000 per accident
SR, in this case, stands for "safety responsibility." Some of the driving violations that may result in an SR-22 filing requirement in Virginia include:
- Driving uninsured
- Falsifying insurance coverage
- Unsatisfied judgements
- Any conviction for an accident resulting in death or serious injury
- Any violations of motor vehicle laws considered punishable as a felony
In some cases, a driver who doesn't own a car and is working toward getting their license reinstated may be required to carry non-owner SR-22 insurance coverage that permits them to occasionally drive a vehicle they don't own. Non-owner car insurance policies usually cost less than other SR-22 policies while still meeting necessary legal requirements.
If you have SR-22 insurance from another state and are driving in Virginia, you must still maintain it.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Virginia?
To get SR-22 insurance coverage, you will need to work with a car insurance company licensed to do business in Virginia. Key steps to fulfill your SR-22 insurance requirement include the following:
For how long does SR-22 insurance last in Virginia?
In Virginia, drivers are required to hold SR-22 insurance for three years, though this period can be extended if you commit another serious driving violation or let your SR-22 coverage lapse. Insurance companies are legally required to inform the Virginia DMV if you cancel or do not renew your SR-22 policy.
A lapse in SR-22 coverage can result in license suspension, reinstatement fees and increased auto insurance rates.
In fact, if your SR-22 lapses, you will be required to carry the certification for another three-year period following the most recent date of license reinstatement.
To avoid a coverage lapse, we recommend renewing your policy as early as possible — at least 30 days in advance — while you're required to carry SR-22 insurance. Once you've held SR-22 insurance for the required length of time, be sure to contact the Virginia DMV to verify that your filing requirement is complete.
What is FR-44 insurance in Virginia?
Similar to an SR-22 filing, an FR-44 form provides Virginia drivers with legal proof of insurance coverage. However, FR-44 insurance, sometimes referred to as "DUI insurance," is most commonly required following a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). The key difference between SR-22 and FR-44 in Virginia is that the latter is issued following alcohol- or drug-related offenses.
According to the Virginia DMV, the circumstances that will require FR-44 insurance in Virginia are:
- Maiming while under the influence
- Driving under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
- Driving with a license that's been forfeited for a conviction, or a not-innocent finding among juveniles
- Any federal, state or local legal violations similar to the above
An FR-44 filing is typically considered more severe and higher risk than an SR-22 certificate and thereby requires double the liability coverage requirements.
Virginia FR-44 insurance coverage requirements are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $40,000 per accident
To get FR-44 insurance in Virginia, the steps are similar to those for an SR-22 filing outlined above.
For how long is FR-44 insurance required in Virginia?
If you're wondering when your FR-44 insurance requirement expires in Virginia, the answer is typically three years from the date of license reinstatement. However, in some cases, the required carrying period can be four years, depending on any specific restrictions associated with your recent conviction and license reinstatement.
As with SR-22 coverage, be sure not to let your FR-44 insurance lapse by renewing your policy as early as possible if you want to maintain your driving privileges. Any lapse in coverage is subject to license suspension, additional fees, more expensive rates and an extended FR-44 carrying period.