Find the Cheapest Insurance Quotes in Your Area
Driving without evidence of a current and effective automobile liability policy is considered a Class II Misdemeanor in the State of Nebraska. Getting caught driving uninsured will result in an automatic license and registration suspension, and license plates confiscation.
|License & Registration||At traffic stop: suspended until proof of insurance is provided
After an accident: suspended until letter of verification is provided
|SR-22 Maintenance||3 years|
|License Reinstatement Fee||$50|
|Registration Renewal Fee||$50|
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Nebraska
In Nebraska, you are asked to have valid car insurance in place before you can register your car, or renew your car registration. Your policy should be able to meet at least the required 25/50/25 liability coverage amounts. If you are caught driving uninsured at a traffic stop -- or worse, after a collision -- you will lose your driving privileges instantly.
Driving Privileges Suspension at a Traffic Stop
The State has authorized law enforcement officers to request proof of financial responsibility at routine traffic stops. If you cannot provide any acceptable form of proof, the police will serve you a citation for the immediate suspension of your license and registration. They can also remove your license plates on the spot in Nebraska.
Your driving privileges will be on hold for an indefinite period of time or until you can come to court with valid proof of insurance, whether it is a newly-purchased auto insurance policy in Nebraska or by proof that an SR-22 is filed by your insurance company.
We would advise you to show proof of insurance within 10 days from the day you are cited. If you succeed in presenting proof of insurance within that grace period, your citation will be dismissed, and your license and registration will be reinstated with no cost on your part. After 10 days, you will need to pay all the reinstatement fees to restore your drivinig privileges. That is $50 each to restore your license and vehicle registration. You will also need to pay for the renewal of your license plates on top of that.
Driving Privileges Suspension after an Accident
If you are involved in a car crash, as part of the reporting process the police officer investigating the scene of the accident will ask for your proof of insurance. You will be given 10 days to appear in court with valid evidence of insurance, and the inability to accommodate this request will have your license and registration suspended right there and then. That's on top of possibly having to personally shoulder the medical bills and repair costs of the other party, if it's decided you actually caused the crash.
In case you do have valid insurance during the crash, the court will only accept proof of insurance in the form of a letter of verification from your insurer. Otherwise, your driving privileged is suspended until you can come back to the DMV with all the required items to reinstate your license and registration. In that case, you'll need: 1) a letter of verification from your insurer as proof, 2) filing of SR-22 by your insurer, and 3) $50 reinstatement fee each for your license and registration.
SR-22 Maintenance in Nebraska
If you have been convicted for violating the insurance law and are required to maintain your SR-22 for 3 years, the state will be alerted if you have lapsed on your premium and failed to maintain liability coverage as required. As punishment, your license and registration will once again be suspended in the name of Insurance Cancellation Suspension.
Nebraska has in place an electronic verification database for monitoring its drivers’ insurance status. All insurance companies must update the DMV with the status of every single policy twice a month, so they will be matched against each registered vehicle. If your policy includes SR-22 filings, this will also be noted and updated in the system.
Re-applying for Auto Insurance in Nebraska
It is common for car insurance carriers to deny coverage to drivers who pose an unnecessary risk to them. These drivers include those convicted for violating the insurance law. As a way to guarantee that all drivers can obtain car insurance even when tagged with a high-risk status, the State extends assistance through the Nebraska Automobile Insurance Plan.