Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Indiana

If you’re caught driving without compulsory car insurance in the state of Indiana, serious penalties can occur, depending on the circumstance. The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) might bar you from driving for a year. You could face a $1,000 reinstatement fee and be required to file a SR-22 certificate of compliance for five years.

Fine & FeeDriving Privilege PenaltyOther

First Offense

$250 reinstatementDriver's license suspended for at least 90 days.SR-22 certificate for three years.

Second Offense

$500 reinstatementDriver's license suspended for one year; registration can also be suspended for one year.SR-22 certificate for three years.

Third and Subsequent Offenses

$1,000 reinstatementDriver's license suspended for one year; registration can also be suspended for one year.SR-22 certificate for five years.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Indiana state law requires all drivers to provide proof of financial responsibility through a certificate of compliance (COC). If you receive a request to provide a COC, your Indiana insurance company must submit the certificate, proving you had proper coverage at the time of the request (could be due to an accident or violation). If the COC is not submitted within 40 days of the request, your driving privileges will be suspended until the certificate is submitted. The suspension may be removed from your record once your insurance provider sends the COC showing the vehicle was covered. Failure to possess appropriate insurance coverage can result in a suspension of your driver’s license and registration for a full year. If you get convicted of driving without insurance, you’ll pay reinstatement fees from $250-$1,000, depending on the offense and be required to file an SR-22 certificate for three to five years.

Penalties for 1st Offense

If you fail to present valid proof of active insurance when requested by law enforcements, such as at traffic stops or at the scene of a car crash, you’re at risk of losing your driving privileges. For the 1st offense, your driver’s license is suspended for at least 90 days and you’ll have to pay a fee of $250 to get it back. If you’re found to be operating without insurance, you’ll be required to provide proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22 certificate) for three years from the date your driving privileges suspension ends.

Penalties for 2nd Offense

If you're caught a 2nd time within five years of a previous violation, your driver’s license is suspended for one year. The driver’s license reinstatement fee to get it back jumps to $500. Your registration may also be suspended for one year. As with the first offense, if you’re found to be operating without insurance, you’ll have to file an SR-22 certificate for three years.

Penalties for 3rd and Subsequent Offenses

If the 3rd offense occurs within five years of a previous violation, your driver’s license is suspended again for full year. You’ll pay a $1,000 driver’s license reinstatement fee to get it back. Your car's registration may also be suspended again for one year. With a third uninsured offense, you’ll have to file an SR-22 certificate for five years, rather than three.

Sources:

Comments and Questions