Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes
Texas drivers may be required to obtain SR-22 insurance if they've committed certain traffic violations, such as driving while intoxicated (DWI). To reinstate your license following such violations, you usually need to get an SR-22 form, which proves that you carry the legally required liability insurance for your vehicle.
If you don't own a car, you can still meet this requirement by purchasing non-owner SR-22 insurance, which is typically cheaper than an owner’s policy.
- Filing an SR-22 with the Texas DPS
- How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Texas?
- What is SR-22 insurance in Texas?
- Non-owner SR-22 insurance
How to file an SR-22 with the Texas DPS
In order to file for an SR-22 certificate with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), make sure to follow these key steps:
Find an authorized insurer or contact your current provider. Some insurers do not provide SR-22 coverage for drivers who need it, so confirm with your provider if it will file the form on your behalf.
Pay the appropriate SR-22 fee. Your insurer may charge a flat fee between $15 and $50 to file the form on your behalf. To get your driver’s license reinstated, you first need to pay a reinstatement fee, which is typically around $100, before submitting an SR-22 form to the Texas DPS in Austin.
Have an insurer file proof of insurance or file directly to the Texas DPS. You can either mail the SR-22 insurance certificate to the DPS or deliver it in person. Otherwise, your insurer can file it electronically on your behalf for a fee. If you want to file the form yourself, you'll need to first ask your insurer for the certificate.
Receive confirmation. Once the fees have been paid and SR-22 documents have been sent in, you can check your driver eligibility status online via the Texas DPS website. Your status will be updated to "eligible" from "ineligible" after your documents have been processed by the state.
You may also need to show proof that you've completed a repeat-offender DWI program if you were found guilty of driving while intoxicated and this was required by the court. If there are any changes to your license status, the DPS will notify you by mail, so make sure it has your current mailing address on file.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Texas?
The reason an SR-22 insurance policy will cost more than your previous coverage is primarily due to whatever violations caused you to need an SR-22 filing. Each insurer in Texas determines SR-22 rates using different methods. From our list of providers, USAA offers the lowest average rate of $824 per year, while Allstate charges on average $3,196 per year.
Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes
The table of insurers below compares auto insurance quotes for a 30-year-old man without SR-22 coverage against a 30-year-old man with SR-22 coverage and a DUI (driving under the influence) charge, along with the premium increase in rates for each insurer.
Our analysis of four providers found that the average cost of auto insurance in Texas is $982 per year and that rates in the state typically increase by 75% after a DUI. So, for this example driver, their rates would increase to $1,718 per year after a DUI that required them to obtain an SR-22 insurance policy.
To get cheaper rates for SR-22 insurance in Texas, we recommend starting by comparing quotes for multiple insurers. Since each insurance company evaluates drivers differently, you can help ensure you receive your best rates by getting competing quotes.
When getting an SR-22 insurance quote, make sure to ask about all discounts an insurer offers. There are some that you can only qualify for based on your vehicle or driving record, but others, such as defensive driver course discounts, you can obtain by completing some simple steps.
What is SR-22 insurance in Texas?
If you've been convicted of certain moving violations in Texas, such as driving under the influence, or you have committed too many traffic offenses within a period of time, the state may require you to file an SR-22 form with the Texas DPS. This can also be called “getting SR-22 insurance”, and it is often mandatory to reinstate your license if it has been suspended due to high-risk violations. SR-22 insurance may also be required if you've refused to consent to a blood-alcohol test.
An SR-22 auto insurance policy complies with Texas' minimum liability insurance requirements, but the insurer also files a certificate directly with the state indicating your policy complies with Texas' financial responsibility laws. Though an SR-22 form is essentially proof of coverage, the state won't accept your insurance card or your policy as alternatives.
In order to meet Texas' liability insurance requirements, your SR-22 insurance must have limits of at least:
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident
- $60,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident
The period of time you'll need to maintain SR-22 insurance can vary but typically extends for two years after the date of your conviction in Texas.
If your policy lapses or is canceled during this period, the insurer is required to notify the state.
If you fail to file a new SR-22 after cancellation or nonrenewal, your license and registration can be suspended again. You'll not only have to purchase a new auto insurance policy, but you’ll also have to pay the reinstatement fees a second time, so it's important not to have a gap in coverage.
Once you've maintained an SR-22 policy for the period required by court order, it's your responsibility to notify your insurer that the form no longer needs to be filed. Otherwise, your insurance company will continue filing the SR-22 with the Texas DPS.
What is SR-22A insurance?
Instead of SR-22 insurance, the court might require you to obtain SR-22A insurance in order to reinstate your license. SR-22A insurance, which is specific to a few states including Texas, requires premium payments in six-month installments rather than the usual monthly billing for a standard SR-22.
An SR-22A requirement is typically only imposed if you have been caught driving without insurance and in violation of Texas' financial responsibility law multiple times.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas
If you need an SR-22 filing to reinstate your license, but you don't have a vehicle registered in your name, you can obtain a non-owner SR-22 insurance policy to meet the state's requirement. Non-owner SR-22 insurance in Texas provides liability coverage that meets the state's requirements and provides coverage whenever you drive a car belonging to someone else.
Since it's limited to liability coverage and you presumably drive less regularly if you don't own a car, non-owner SR-22 insurance tends to have much lower rates than owner’s SR-22 insurance.