Find the Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Your Area
The Nevada Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law requires you to purchase auto insurance to operate legally on the road and before registering your car with the Nevada DMV. The minimum insurance coverage you need in the Silver State is 25/50/20 for any bodily injuries and/or property damage someone suffered because of you. Failure to comply with the law may cost you money and even your driver's license and vehicle registration at a certain point.
Have your Evidence of Insurance card, issued by your insurer, with you when you drive in the state. A copy of that or your policy’s declaration page can be used as your proof of insurance, in case you are ever pulled over by the police.
|Nevada Required Car Insurance Coverage||NV Required Min. Limits|
|Bodily Injury (BI)||$25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident|
|Property Damage (PD)||$20,000 per accident|
Nevada Car Insurance Minimum Requirements
The minimum amount of car insurance you need in Nevada consists of bodily injury and property damage coverage. A minimum policy will cover you under the following conditions and for these amounts:
Bodily Injury (BI): whenever you cause an accident in Nevada, your liability insurance covers the costs of the other party’s injuries. Under a minimum policy, your insurer will pay up to at most $25,000 per injured person and no more than $50,000 in total per accident when there is more than one injured person. This coverage is also effective whenever your family member – who lives with you – uses your car and crashes into someone's vehicle, even if you are not in the car when the accident happens.
Property Damage (PD): your liability insurance also covers the costs the other party needs to repair or replace their property loss from the accident, which you were at fault for. Under a minimum policy, your insurer pays no more than $20,000 per accident on your behalf, and you must bear the costs if the damage exceeds this coverage limit. Higher limits are usually available for purchase, varying with each insurer.
Optional Coverage in Nevada
When your car runs into another car, or vice versa, things can become complicated. Aside from the damage inflicted on the other other party, you'll probably have your own costs - which might include bumper replacement to getting your head checked from the collision. Your liability insurance coverage isn’t very useful in this situation. While you should always consider extra insurance based on your personal needs and financial ability, here are several common additional coverages that motorists may find from most Nevada insurers:
Medical Payments (MedPay): in the scenario above, you need to go to the hospital for an MRI scan of your head in case there is any serious traumatic damage. Your Nevada health insurance may cover the costs, but you also have deductibles to pay before the coverage kicks in. Having MedPay covers your medical expenses for injuries from an auto accident that is not covered by your health insurance, such as the deductible. Most importantly, you are covered regardless of fault. In Nevada, available MedPay coverage for purchase may range between $1,000 and $10,000, depending on the insurer.
Collision: collision coverage is a piece of what is generally referred to as the physical damage insurance by Silver State agents. Whenever your car is damaged due to a collision accident – such as a car crash – the costs to repair would be covered under collision. However, there will be a collision deductible amount you need to satisfy before the coverage kicks in.
Alternative Proof of Financial Responsibility
The Financial Responsibility Law also accepts one alternative to a car insurance policy as your proof of compliance. You may apply to become a self-insurer with the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS) if you own more than 10 vehicles, all of which are registered under your name in the state. The DPS will only grant your application if you can prove that you do and will continue to be able to pay any judgments against you for an accident you cause. Specifically, you must be able to pay out at least as an insurer would under the minimum insurance policy we discuss above.