Find the Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Your Area
If you have been convicted of driving without insurance in a traffic violation or an accident, you could receive a “Notice of Suspension” letter from the Department of Public Safety in the mail, alerting you of the suspension of your driving privileges. In order to stop the suspension, or to reinstate a suspended license and registration, you must pay a reinstatement fee and provide the DPS with a SR-22 form from your insurance company.
Vehicle Registration Suspended for Driving Without Insurance
Texas’ Financial Responsibility law requires drivers to carry the minimum auto insurance coverage. Although spending around $885 (the average cost of auto insurance in Texas for our example drivers) per year on auto insurance may seem like a lot of money, you could end up spending twice that amount paying fines for failure to show proof of financial responsibility. The Texas DPS will suspend your license or registration for any of the following reasons:
- You have received a second or subsequent conviction for no liability insurance during a traffic stop.
- The DPS has received notice that you have cancelled your insurance, failing to maintain proof of insurance.
- You were in a collision while uninsured, which resulted in injury, death or property damages.
In addition to the potential suspension of your driving privileges, you will likely be fined extensively and face other penalties for driving while uninsured. Depending on the severity of your conviction, the process reinstating your driving privileges could be fairly easy.
Reinstating Your Driving Privileges
If you’ve received a “Notice of Suspension”, you have the right to request a hearing to challenge the suspension within 15 days of receiving the notice. If the DPS receives and approves your request before the 15 days are over, you will receive information about the details of the hearing. It’s important to act quickly upon receiving a Notice of Suspension letter, or your driving privileges will be suspended after the 15 days are up.
Before submitting a SR-22 form, also known as proof of auto insurance, or SR-60 form to the Texas DPS, you must pay reinstatement fees online. The reinstatement fee is $100. To view and pay your reinstatement fee, you must have the following information:
- Texas Driver License/ID Card
- Date of Birth
- Last 4 digits of your social security number
- A valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or Amex)
If your license was suspended for a traffic stop conviction while uninsured or due to cancellation of your insurance, you will have to file a SR-22 form. The SR-22 form will be required for two years from the date of conviction. If your license was suspended due to a serious collision while uninsured, you will have to file both a SR-22 form and a SR-60 form. The SR-60 form is an application for the reinstatement of your driving privileges that can only be filed if the driver has no civil suits pending against him or unpaid judgments two years after the date of the collision.
When submitting your SR-22 and/or SR-60 form, you must include a copy of the suspension notice and write your name, date of birth, and license number and every form so that your driving record can be identified. There are three ways to submit SR-22 or SR-60 forms to the TX DPS:
1. Submit forms by mail: You can mail the required forms to the DPS address:
Texas Department of Public Safety Enforcement and Compliance Service P.O. Box 4087 Austin, TX 78773-0320
2. Submit forms by fax to the DPS: 512-424-2848
3. Submit forms as pdfs attached to an email: [email protected]
If you were unable to find auto insurance in the voluntary market in Texas, you can apply for coverage through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association, which insures high risk drivers.
Notices from TexasSure
Have you received a notice from TexasSure in the mail, asking you to verify your auto insurance policy? If you have auto insurance, you might be confused about the contents of the letter. TexasSure, a database created by Texas, allows peace officers to check the status of a driver’s auto insurance. Auto insurance companies are required to submit updated policy information to TexasSure for all of their Texas customers. If TexasSure is unable to match an insured customer to their registered vehicle, a notice could be sent notifying the driver that they must update their insurance information on the website.
The notice you receive may look like this one. The notice asks the driver to take action within 10 days of receiving the notice. To resolve the issue and make sure TexasSure has your correct insurance information, call their customer service line listed on the notice. When you call the TexasSure customer service center, make sure you have your reference number with you (listed on the top of your letter).
If you can’t get through to TexasSure, you can call the Texas Department of Insurance at 1-800-578-4677, and they will be able to connect you to TexasSure.