Find Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Your Area
According to Maryland state law, all drivers must carry car insurance with at least $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury per accident and $15,000 for property damage. Insurers also must include $2,500 in personal injury protection, unless you ask to limit the coverage in writing. But despite having mandatory personal injury protection, Maryland is not a no-fault state.
To verify your insurance status, your insurer will need to submit a FR-19 form — Maryland's insurance certificate — to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) on your behalf.
Maryland required car insurance coverage
Maryland required minimum limits
Bodily injury (BI)
|$30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident|
Property damage (PD)
|$15,000 per accident|
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist BI (UM/UIMBI)
|$30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident|
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist PD (UM/UIMPD)
|$15,000 per accident, $250 deductible|
Maryland car insurance minimum requirements
A valid Maryland auto insurance policy includes liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection. These coverages pay for the other party's medical bills and car repairs following an accident, along with some of your own expenses. Here's a deeper look:
Bodily injury (BI): This coverage pays for the other party's bills following an accident you cause — up to $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. If the other party decides to take the matter to court, then your liability insurance also covers your legal fees — but all costs must fit within the total 30/60 limits.
Property damage (PD): This coverage pays for any property damage you cause, up to $15,000 per accident. This may include damage to the other driver's car, any building or other property you crash into, or the other party's personal belongings that were damaged in the accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist (UM/UIM): This coverage pays your own medical bills and car repair expenses if you're hit by a driver who either has no insurance or not enough coverage. As of 2012, about 12% of Maryland drivers lack insurance — so this coverage may come in handy at some point.
If the other driver's BI/PD limits are lower than yours, and their insurer doesn't offer an acceptable settlement, then you can make claims under your UM/UIM policy — up to the difference between the two limits. Your insurer may ask you to reject the settlement, or accept it and make up the difference.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured/underinsured property damage are both required in at least the following limits:
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury (UM/UIMBI): up to $30,000 per person and up to $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage (UM/UIMPD): $15,000; a $250 deductible for every accident you make a claim for
Personal injury protection coverage in Maryland
Often referred to as no-fault insurance, personal injury protection (PIP) in Maryland covers $2,500 of your own medical expenses when you are injured in a crash, regardless of fault, at the state minimum. Maryland is not a no-fault state, however, because it does not limit your right to sue the negligent driver in exchange for this coverage (as no-fault states do).
Maryland requires PIP but allows you to limit the amount of coverage in writing (see table below). However, once you have chosen limited PIP on one policy, it means you exclude yourself from PIP coverage under any other vehicle's policy.
As an example, when you choose limited PIP for your own policy, being injured in your parents' car will not give you access to their PIP (even when it is the full option). The only exception is when you have full PIP coverage on a different policy where you're listed as the policyholder. For example, let's say you own two cars — Car 1 and Car 2 — and each has its own policy. Car 1 has limited PIP and Car 2 has full PIP. You're still eligible for the PIP benefits under Car 2's PIP coverage.
Some Maryland motorists with health insurance find PIP redundant, so they choose to limit PIP coverage to lower their premiums. However, if you're injured following an accident and can't work or perform daily tasks, Maryland's PIP reimburses 85% of your lost income and provides a stipend to cover typical household chores. Your insurer can set a deadline — at least 12 months — from the date of the accident, before which you must file all of your PIP claims in order to be properly reimbursed.
Below is a table comparison between the full (or included) PIP and limited (or excluded) PIP coverage and costs:
|Higher||Medical expenses, 85% income loss, reasonable household service, funeral expenses||Policyholder, spouse, all household members living in the same residence who have not limited their PIP in a separate policy|
|Lower||Medical expenses, 85% income loss, reasonable household service, funeral expenses||Household members below 16, members of household who have not limited their PIP in a separate policy and injured while as a passenger on someone else's car or as a pedestrian|