Find Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Your Area
The cheapest defensive driving course in New York is offered by New York Safety Program for $23.95.
Defensive driving courses can be taken online or in a classroom and can help New Yorkers refresh their memory on driving laws and reduce up to four points on their driver’s license. Registering for a class in New York is both easy and convenient, and there is no final test requirement.
Best cheap defensive driving courses in New York
The best cheap defensive driving course is offered by New York Safety Program for $23.95. The cost of the listed providers below range from $23.95 to $49.95. There are eight providers that offer defensive driving courses for under $30.
|New York Safety Program||$23.95|
|American Safety Council||$24.95|
|Driver Training Associates||$24.95|
|Comedy Traffic School||$27.95|
|National Safety Council||$29.95|
|USA Training Company||$29.95|
|Low Cost Accident Prevention||$34.95|
|National Traffic Safety Institute||$39.95|
|Empire Safety Council||$44.95|
|I Drive Safely||$48.95|
Some organizations provide courses exclusively for their employees and members. Before registering for a class, talk to your employer to see whether they provide — or offer discounts on — these courses. For example, the Nassau County Police Department and the NYS Department of Transportation provide free defensive driving classes just for their employees.
Most of the online and in-person classes do not have a final exam and are graded based on completion or attendance. You can sign up for a defensive driving course on the company's website.
Benefits of taking a defensive driving course in New York
In order to receive the point reduction and lower your NY auto insurance costs, drivers must complete a Defensive Driving Course or an Accident Prevention Course that is approved by the state of New York’s Point & Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) or Internet Point & Insurance Reduction Program (IPIRP). The course provides an opportunity to learn techniques to be a safe driver and can result in the following:
- Up to four points deducted on current driving license: If a driver accumulates 11 points in 18 months, their license may be suspended. Taking a defensive driving course before getting 11 points is one way to keep more breathing room on your record. Upon completion, drivers can get rid of up to four points from violations over the last 18 months. Most organizations will send a copy of the certificate to the DMV after graduation to facilitate the deduction.
- Auto insurance discount in New York: Drivers will receive a 10% reduction on the liability, no-fault and collision portions of insurance every year for three years after the completion of the course. The same PIRP course has to be retaken every three years to renew the insurance reduction. Once the driver has a certificate of completion, he or she must send a copy of the certificate within the first 90 days of registration to the insurer or agent to get the 10% discount on their car insurance.
How to find the best defensive driving course in NY
When searching for the best defensive driving course in New York State, you should first determine if you are better suited for an online or in-person class. While taking an online course may be more convenient since you can complete it at your own pace, some people prefer taking the in-person course, which can be completed in one day.
If price is an important factor for choosing a course, the three cheapest defensive driving courses are offered by New York Safety Program, Driver Training Associates and American Safety Council.
How long is the defensive driving course in NY?
Whether you take the defensive driving course online or in person, classes are required to be at least a total of 320 minutes long. Online classes can be taken whenever is most convenient for the driver. In a classroom setting, the 320 minutes can be taken in one daytime session or split into two evening sessions.