Find the Cheapest Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Your Area
Indiana law differentiates mopeds, scooters and other personal mobility vehicles from conventional motorcycles — they all have different licensing, speed, and insurance requirements. Before riding any of these vehicles in Indiana, make sure you know what type you have, and what you need to do to ride legally.
|Vehicle type||License required||Registration required||Insurance required||Where can I ride it?|
|Scooter (over 50cc)||Yes||Yes||Yes||Street|
|Moped/motorized bicycle (under 50cc)||Yes (driver's license or moped license)||Yes||No||Street (no highways)|
|E-scooter||No||No||No||Bike paths or street (no highways)|
Indiana moped laws
In Indiana, a moped or other small scooter with a motor of 50cc or less is considered a Class B motor driven cycle (MDC). This category of vehicle has fewer restrictions on who can drive it than a larger scooter or motorcycle, but you're not allowed to drive it on highways or bike paths.
In order to drive a Class B MDC, you need to have a driver's license of some kind, but you don't need a motorcycle license. Additionally, if you don't have a driver's license, you can take a special written test in order to qualify for a Class B MDC endorsement. Anyone age 15 or older can take the test to ride a moped.
Class B MDCs are only permitted to travel 35 mph or less, though it's not likely a 50cc engine would be able to take you any faster. You can't drive your moped on highways or bike paths, nor can you have a passenger.
Class B MDCs must be registered with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You'll be issued a license plate, and you need a title document as well.
Indiana moped regulations
|License required?||Do I need liability insurance?||Do I need to register it?||Do I need a title?||Where can I drive it?||Maximum speed|
|Yes (Any driver's license, or ID with Class B MDC endorsement)||No||Yes||Yes||35 mph|
Indiana law does not define a separate category of vehicle for motorized or electric bicycles, so they are considered Class B motor driven cycles for legal purposes.
Indiana scooter laws
In the state of Indiana, a motor scooter over 50cc may be considered a motorcycle or a Class A motor driven cycle, depending on how powerful the motor is. An engine over 50cc but under 5 brake-horsepower (bhp) is considered a Class A MDC; anything more powerful is treated the same as a regular motorcycle.
|Vehicle type||Engine requirement|
|Class A motor driven cycle||Motor is over 50cc, and produces 5 brake-horsepower or less|
|Motorcycle||Engine is over 50cc and produces more than 5 brake-horsepower|
The rules for riding a Class A MDC and a motorcycle are fairly similar. You're required to pass a motorcycle license test in order to drive both. Both types of vehicles require a title and a license plate, and you'll need liability insurance for each as well.
Additionally, you can legally take both types of vehicles on surface roads and highways. However, keep in mind that the top speed of a 5hp scooter is likely no more than 35 mph, so it may not be safe to ride it on major highways.
Indiana scooter regulations
|Motorcycle||Class A motor driven cycle|
|Motorcycle license||Motorcycle license or Class A motor driven cycle license|
Indiana laws for e-scooters
Starting in July 2019, a vehicle is considered an "electric foot scooter" if it meets all the following criteria:
- Has handlebars and a floorboard to stand on while riding
- Weighs 100 pounds or less
- Has three or fewer wheels
- Maximum propulsion of 20 mph or less on flat ground
E-scooters that meet these criteria have all the same rights and responsibilities as a bicycle. This includes rentable e-scooters from companies like Bird, Lime and Spin. You can ride them in the street and on bike paths, and you don't need insurance or a license to ride one. They're also not legally considered motor vehicles.
However, e-scooters may also be subject to additional laws in your city, such as parking restrictions — make sure you're following all local laws relating to e-scooters.
Indiana e-scooter regulations
|License required?||Do I need liability insurance?||Do I need to register it?||Do I need a title?|
Indiana laws for hoverboards and Segways
In Indiana, a vehicle is considered an "electric personal assistive mobility device" if it meets all of these criteria:
- Self-balancing device with two non-tandem (not in line) wheels
- Electric propulsion with a motor under 750 watts
- Maximum speed under 20 mph
Vehicles that meet this criteria are not required to be registered with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Indiana scooter insurance
Whether you need insurance for your moped, scooter, or other personal mobility device in Indiana depends on what kind of vehicle it is, and how powerful it is. For example, an e-scooter doesn't require coverage, but a scooter does.
|Liability Insurance Required||No Liability Insurance Required|
|Motor scooters (over 50cc)||Mopeds (under 50cc)|
|E-scooters and hoverboards|
If your scooter requires insurance, you have to meet the same liability requirements as driving a regular motorcycle, though scooter insurance is often cheaper than a policy for a motorcycle.
Indiana scooter insurance minimums
- Personal injury per person: $25,000
- Personal injury per accident: $50,000
- Property damage per accident: $10,000