The Best Motorcycle Insurance Companies in Florida (2023)

The Best Motorcycle Insurance Companies in Florida (2023)

Progressive has the cheapest motorcycle insurance in Florida, at $52 per month, on average. Florida riders can get the best service at Allstate.

Compare Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Florida

Currently insured?

It's important to shop around for affordable motorcycle insurance quotes, but the cheapest company isn't always the best choice. The best motorcycle insurance company should offer riders low rates, dependable customer service and useful coverage options.

The cheapest motorcycle insurance companies in Florida

Progressive offers the most affordable motorcycle insurance in Florida. Full coverage insurance from Progressive costs $52 per month, which is $27 cheaper per month than the Florida state average.

The average cost of motorcycle insurance in Florida is $79 per month, or $942 per year, for a full coverage policy.

The cheapest motorcycle insurers in Florida

Compare Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Florida

Currently insured?

Florida riders should also consider Allstate. At $64 per month, full coverage from Allstate is $15 less per month than average.

Company
Monthly rate
Progressive logo
Progressive$52
Allstate logo
Allstate$64
Geico logo
Geico$70
Dairyland logo
Dairyland$128

Motorcycle insurance is not required by law for most riders in Florida. However, buying motorcycle insurance is the best way to protect yourself and your bike if you cause a crash. Without insurance, you'll have to pay for any injuries and damage you cause out of pocket.

{"backgroundColor":"ice","content":"\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003EMotorcycle insurance is \u003Cspan\u003E\u003Ca class=\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black\" title=\"not required by law for most riders in Florida\" href=\"#insurance-requirements\"\u003Enot required by law for most riders in Florida\u003C\/a\u003E\u003C\/span\u003E. However, buying motorcycle insurance is the best way to protect yourself and your bike if you cause a crash. Without insurance, you'll have to pay for any injuries and damage you cause out of pocket.\n","padding":"double"}

Best motorcycle insurance in FL for most people: Progressive

  • Editor rating

  • Monthly rate

    $52 ?

Why it's great

Progressive has the lowest rates in Florida, plus many coverage options and dependable service.

Progressive's rates for motorcycle insurance are the cheapest in Florida, with an average price of $52 per month. That's 33% cheaper than the state average and $12 less expensive per month than the second-cheapest option, Allstate. Progressive also offers lots of ways for riders to save on insurance, including a discount for bundling your policy with auto or home insurance.

Progressive has a great range of useful coverage options for Florida riders.

Beyond the basics like liability and collision coverage, Progressive offers extras like full replacement coverage for new bikes, protection for accessories and custom parts, and trip interruption — some of which come standard with every policy.

Progressive has well-rated customer service, too. It receives only 74% of the complaints expected for a company its size, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). This suggests that Progressive customers tend to be happy with their service, overall.


Best customer service: Allstate

  • Editor rating

  • Monthly rate

    $64 ?

Why it's great

Allstate has the best customer service of any motorcycle insurer we reviewed in Florida.

We recommend Allstate for riders who prioritize customer service over getting the cheapest rates.

Having an insurance company you can depend on is important — if you're ever in an accident, great customer service can help you get back on the road quickly.

Allstate receives only 63% as many complaints as competitors of the same size, according to the NAIC.

Allstate's motorcycle insurance rates are affordable, with an average rate of $64 per month, about 19% less than the statewide average. Riders who have other insurance policies with Allstate, like home or car insurance, may be able to pay less by qualifying for a multipolicy discount.

Allstate's coverage options are good, but not as strong as Progressive's. It offers extras like accessories and trailer coverage but doesn't have an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) parts guarantee or enhanced injury protection.


Best for military families: USAA

  • Editor rating


Why it's great

USAA offers insurance at a discount from Progressive, our top pick.

Some Florida riders can get a great deal on motorcycle insurance through USAA. The company has some of the best customer service around, though it's only available to military members, veterans and some family members.

USAA doesn't sell its own motorcycle insurance. Instead, it works through Progressive: USAA members get a 5% discount, which can be applied to Progressive's already low rates.

USAA has a smaller number of in-person agents than many larger competitors, so it's not a top option for those looking to work with someone in person.


FL motorcycle insurance costs by city

Riders in Deltona pay the cheapest motorcycle rates among Florida's largest cities, at $58 per month, on average. People living in Miami have the most expensive rates — $127 per month.

Motorcycle insurance rates can vary by $69 per month across 36 of Florida's largest cities. There are lots of factors that influence the difference in rates, including accident statistics, crime rates, traffic and weather.

City
Average monthly cost
Difference vs. state average
Boca Raton$65-18%
Boynton Beach$66-16%
Cape Coral$63-20%
Clearwater$64-19%
Coral Springs$813%
Show All Rows

While the cost of motorcycle insurance is typically higher in larger cities, that isn't always true in Florida. For instance, the average rate in the largest city in Florida, Jacksonville, is lower than the overall Florida average.


Do you need motorcycle insurance in Florida?

Motorcycle insurance is not required by law for most riders in Florida. However, if you cause an accident, you're responsible for paying the medical bills of anyone who's injured, along with the cost to repair the damaged vehicle.

Although it's not required, we recommend that all Florida riders buy motorcycle insurance so you're not stuck with a big bill after an accident.

However, if you cause a motorcycle accident and don't have insurance, you'll be required to get insurance. After an accident, Florida motorcycle insurance law requires you to have bodily injury and property damage liability insurance for three years to avoid having your license and registration suspended:

Coverage
Requirement after an at-fault accident
Bodily injury liability$10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident
Property damage liability$10,000 per accident
{"backgroundColor":"ice","content":"\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003EHowever, if you cause a motorcycle accident and don't have insurance, you'll be required to get insurance. After an accident, Florida motorcycle insurance law requires you to have bodily injury and property damage liability insurance for three years to avoid having your license and registration suspended:\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003E\u003Cdiv class=\"ReactComponent--root\"\u003E\n \u003Cdiv class=\"js-react-component-rendered js-react-component-SortableTable\" data-component-name=\"SortableTable\"\u003E\n \u003Cdiv class=\"StyledRootWrapper-sc-3qeib4 jYHfZo\"\u003E\u003Cdiv class=\"StyledTableWrapper-sc-5nmmx9 fesmOM\"\u003E\u003Cdiv class=\"StyledTableOverflowWrapper-sc-hixhp9 gVbnK\"\u003E\u003Ctable class=\"StyledTable-sc-ujzn9t jVpJxq\"\u003E\u003Cthead class=\"StyledHeaderRow-sc-1m1b8dn hCELBb\"\u003E\u003Ctr\u003E\u003Cth colSpan=\"1\" width=\"\" class=\"StyledHeaderCell-sc-nsptsd frWuiR\"\u003E\u003Cdiv class=\"StyledColumnHeaderWrapper-sc-12xyb2r gPTwhA\"\u003E\u003Cspan\u003ECoverage\u003C\/span\u003E\u003C\/div\u003E\u003C\/th\u003E\u003Cth colSpan=\"1\" width=\"\" class=\"StyledHeaderCell-sc-nsptsd frWuiR\"\u003E\u003Cdiv class=\"StyledColumnHeaderWrapper-sc-12xyb2r glLrYA\"\u003E\u003Cspan\u003ERequirement after an at-fault accident\u003C\/span\u003E\u003C\/div\u003E\u003C\/th\u003E\u003C\/tr\u003E\u003C\/thead\u003E\u003Ctbody class=\"StyledBody-sc-14y8oc0 dcdMVT\"\u003E\u003Ctr\u003E\u003Ctd colSpan=\"1\" rowspan=\"1\" width=\"\" class=\"StyledBodyCell-sc-5cu9ee XfhRD\"\u003E\u003Cspan\u003E\u003Ca class=\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black\" title=\"Bodily Injury Car Insurance Coverage: How Does It Work?\" href=\"https:\/\/www.valuepenguin.com\/bodily-injury-car-insurance-coverage\"\u003EBodily injury liability\u003C\/a\u003E\u003C\/span\u003E\u003C\/td\u003E\u003Ctd colSpan=\"1\" rowspan=\"1\" width=\"\" class=\"StyledBodyCell-sc-5cu9ee frAYUA\"\u003E$10,000 per person\/$20,000 per accident\u003C\/td\u003E\u003C\/tr\u003E\u003Ctr\u003E\u003Ctd colSpan=\"1\" rowspan=\"1\" width=\"\" class=\"StyledBodyCell-sc-5cu9ee XfhRD\"\u003E\u003Cspan\u003E\u003Ca class=\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black\" title=\"What Is Property Damage Liability Car Insurance?\" href=\"https:\/\/www.valuepenguin.com\/property-damage-liability-car-insurance\"\u003EProperty damage liability\u003C\/a\u003E\u003C\/span\u003E\u003C\/td\u003E\u003Ctd colSpan=\"1\" rowspan=\"1\" width=\"\" class=\"StyledBodyCell-sc-5cu9ee frAYUA\"\u003E$10,000 per accident\u003C\/td\u003E\u003C\/tr\u003E\u003C\/tbody\u003E\u003C\/table\u003E\u003C\/div\u003E\u003C\/div\u003E\u003C\/div\u003E\n \u003C\/div\u003E\n\n \u003Cscript type=\"application\/json\" class=\"js-react-component\" data-component-name=\"SortableTable\"\u003E{\"alignsHorizontal\":[\"left\",\"right\"],\"alignsVertical\":[],\"columnWidths\":[],\"data\":[[\"Coverage\",\"Requirement after an at-fault accident\"],[\"\\u003Cspan\\u003E\\u003Ca class=\\\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black\\\" title=\\\"Bodily Injury Car Insurance Coverage: How Does It Work?\\\" href=\\\"https:\\\/\\\/www.valuepenguin.com\\\/bodily-injury-car-insurance-coverage\\\"\\u003EBodily injury liability\\u003C\\\/a\\u003E\\u003C\\\/span\\u003E\",\"$10,000 per person\\\/$20,000 per accident\"],[\"\\u003Cspan\\u003E\\u003Ca class=\\\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black\\\" title=\\\"What Is Property Damage Liability Car Insurance?\\\" href=\\\"https:\\\/\\\/www.valuepenguin.com\\\/property-damage-liability-car-insurance\\\"\\u003EProperty damage liability\\u003C\\\/a\\u003E\\u003C\\\/span\\u003E\",\"$10,000 per accident\"]],\"footnote\":\"\",\"hideHeaderRow\":false,\"hasMarginBottom\":true,\"isExpandable\":true,\"isSortable\":false,\"maxWidth\":\"1215\",\"minWidth\":\"100%\",\"showSearch\":false,\"sortColumnIndex\":0,\"sortDirection\":\"asc\"}\u003C\/script\u003E\n\n\u003C\/div\u003E\n","padding":"double"}

Do you need a motorcycle license in Florida?

Riders in Florida need to have a motorcycle license or endorsement for bikes with an engine larger than 50cc. Riding without a license can result in fines and jail time.

  • If you already have a Florida Class E driver's license and want to add a motorcycle endorsement, you'll need to complete a motorcycle safety course and find an authorized sponsor. You can choose either the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic RiderCourse updated (BRCu). Once you've completed the safety course, you'll have one year to apply for and obtain a motorcycle endorsement.

  • If you want to apply for a motorcycle-only license in Florida, you'll need to be at least 16 years old and pass the written test for a Class E driver's license. You'll also need to complete a motorcycle safety course with an authorized sponsor. Riders under 18 need to maintain a learner's license for at least one year with no traffic violations.

  • If you already have a driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement from another state, there are no additional requirements. The only exception is for motorcycle endorsements on licenses from Alabama, which are only recognized in Florida once you complete a motorcycle safety course.

Once you've met the requirements above, you can schedule an appointment at any Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) office to get a Florida motorcycle license. If you're looking for a Florida motorcycle license class, the FLHSMV website provides a comprehensive overview of class locations and courses offered.

Finally, you'll need to pay at least one of these fees in your application:

  • Florida Class E licensing fee: $48
  • Florida motorcycle endorsement fee: $7
  • Florida identification card fee: $25

What are the penalties for riding without a motorcycle endorsement in Florida?

Riding a motorcycle without an endorsement is considered a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida. Riding without a valid endorsement can lead to severe consequences:

  • Immediate impounding of your motorcycle
  • A fine of $500
  • Six months of probation
  • Up to 60 days in jail

While the process of getting a motorcycle endorsement in Florida can take some time, it's a necessary part of responsible motorcycle ownership. Riding without a proper license is never worth the risk to your safety, your bike or your freedom.


Florida motorcycle helmet law

Florida motorcycle laws require that all riders and passengers wear helmets that comply with the U.S. Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, unless they're inside an enclosed cab. Additionally, riders must wear compliant eye protection while riding a motorcycle.

There are exceptions to Florida's helmet rule. However, we recommend wearing a helmet at all times, whether or not the law requires it.

  • If you're 21 and over, you’re not required to wear a helmet as long as you show proof of motorcycle insurance with at least $10,000 in medical benefits coverage for accident-related injuries.
  • If you're 16 or older, you can ignore the helmet requirement when you ride a motorcycle that cannot go faster than 30 miles per hour and either:
    • Is not rated in excess of 2 braking horsepower or
    • Has a motor with a displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less
  • If you're under 16, there are no exceptions: You must always wear a helmet when on a motorcycle in Florida.

Other Florida motorcycle laws

  • Passenger laws: Florida law prohibits passengers on motorcycles unless they are riding in a dedicated passenger seat equipped with its own footrests. If you're riding with a passenger, your handlebars or handle grips must not be at a level higher than your shoulders. However, these rules don't apply if your passenger is seated in a sidecar or in an enclosed cab.
  • Fender laws: Unlike some states, Florida doesn't apply its fender laws to motorcycles. Only commercial vehicles are required to have mud flaps and fenders framing the wheel well. Fenders are meant to reduce the volume of mud and debris thrown into the air by vehicle tires in motion.
  • Motorcycle accent lighting laws: Florida law allows for accent lighting on your motorcycle, but it prohibits riders from mounting red lights on the front of a motorcycle and also prohibits blue lights of any kind in any configuration.
  • Motorcycle turn signal laws: Florida law states that every vehicle — motorcycles included — must be equipped with electric turn signals in the front and rear of the vehicle. If you plan to customize your motorcycle, you'll have to keep turn signals on both ends of the bike in order to remain compliant with this requirement.
  • Laws for scooters and mopeds: Lighter vehicles like scooters and mopeds follow slightly different rules in Florida. Compared to motorcycles, these vehicles tend to have fewer license and insurance requirements but also more restrictions on where they can be used.

Frequently asked questions

Who has the best motorcycle insurance in FL?

Progressive has the best motorcycle insurance for most riders in Florida. At $52 per month, it offers the cheapest rates in the state. A standard policy from Progressive also includes extra coverage that other companies charge more money for, like original equipment manufacturer (OEM) replacement.

How much is motorcycle insurance in Florida?

Floridians pay around $79 per month for motorcycle insurance. The cheapest company, Progressive, offers coverage for $52 per month — $27 less per month than average.

Is motorcycle insurance required in Florida?

Most riders in Florida don't have to buy motorcycle insurance. It's only required if you've caused an accident in the last three years. However, we recommend purchasing insurance so you don't have to pay a large amount of money out of pocket if you're in an accident.

How much is motorcycle insurance in Miami, FL?

Riders in Miami pay around $127 per month for motorcycle insurance. That's 62% more expensive than the Florida average. In comparison, motorcycle insurance in Orlando costs $74 per month, on average.


Methodology

To find the cheapest motorcycle insurance company in Florida, we analyzed nearly 200 quotes across 36 of the largest cities in the state. Rates are based on a 45-year-old married man with a 2019 Harley-Davidson FLHX Street Glide. He has 20 years of riding experience and recently participated in a basic motorcycle education course.

The quotes we collected are based on a full coverage policy with comprehensive and collision coverage:

Coverage
Limit
Bodily injury liability coverage$100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
Property damage liability coverage$50,000 per accident
Comprehensive and collision coverage$500 deductible

To determine the best customer service in Florida, we analyzed National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) complaint index scores, which show the number of complaints a company receives compared to its share of the insurance market. We also considered AM Best's financial stability ratings, which provide an estimate of how strong a company is financially.

Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.