Find Cheap Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Your Area
In Georgia, laws and regulations for mopeds, scooters and electric bicycles differ in regards to registration, insurance and licenses. Moped riders in GA do not have to register or insure their vehicles, but they do need a valid learner's permit or driver's license to operate one. Scooters — which have an engine with a displacement of 50cc or more — are subject to the same rules and regulations as motorcycles, and therefore drivers need a motorcycle license and insurance to operate one.
|Vehicle type||License requirement||Insurance requirement||Where can you ride it?|
|Moped (49cc or less)||Learner's permit or driver's license||None||Roads with a minimum speed limit of 35 mph or less|
|Scooter (50cc or more)||Motorcycle license||No restrictions|
|Electric scooter||None||None||Bike paths, bike lanes and roads with a minimum speed limit of 35 mph or less|
|E-bike||None||None||Bike paths, bike lanes and roads with a minimum speed limit of 35 mph or less|
Georgia moped laws
Georgia law defines mopeds as having the following qualities:
- A power source — either electric or a combustion engine — that is capable of producing a maximum of 2 horsepower
- A maximum displacement of 50cc (cubic centimeters) if the moped is powered by a combustion engine
- Cannot be able to exceed 30 mph on a level surface — regardless of propulsion system
- Has either an automatic or direct power drive system — meaning it cannot have a transmission that requires clutching or shifting by the rider
To operate a moped in Georgia, you must be at least 15 years old and have a valid learner's permit or driver's license. Mopeds do not need to be registered with the state, but they're restricted to roads where the minimum speed limit is 35 mph or less. Additionally, all moped riders in the state must wear a helmet.
If you live in Brunswick or any other area close to Florida, keep in mind that the legal rules around mopeds and scooters may be slightly different there.
Scooter laws in Georgia
In Georgia, scooters that have engines over 50cc are subject to the same licencing, registration and insurance regulations as motorcycles. Note that many scooters, such as those produced by Vespa, Honda and Yamaha, have 150cc engines — and will therefore fall into this category. To legally operate this type of vehicle, you will need a motorcycle license, current registration and the following insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability insurance: $25,00 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability insurance: $25,000 per accident
To get a Georgia motorcycle license, you must be at least 17 years old and pass a knowledge, road skills and vision exam. However, those who take a state-endorsed motorcycle-riding course won't need to take the test.
Georgia electric scooter laws
Electric-kick scooters — such as the kind offered by Bird and Lime — are different from larger, gas-powered scooters and therefore have different guidelines. Electric-kick scooter riders won't need a license, registration or insurance for these vehicles.
Electric scooters can be ridden on bike paths, bike lanes and on roads with a speed limit of 35 mph or less. You can't use these on sidewalks, and riders who are 16 or younger will need to wear a helmet while operating them. E-scooter regulations can vary by city, so check with your local municipality to before you ride.
GA motorized bicycle laws
In general, motorized bikes that do not exceed certain power or engine size limits are subject to the same regulations as human-powered bicycles. They can be used on streets and on bike paths without a license or insurance. However, riders younger than 16 must wear a helmet.
Electric-powered bikes must have an electric motor of 1,000 watts or less and maximum speed of 20 mph. Additionally, they must also be equipped with pedals like a typical bicycle.
Combustion engine-powered bikes must be equipped with an engine smaller than 50cc. Any bicycle that has a larger engine will be classified as a moped.