Arizona Laws for Scooters, Mopeds and Other Motorized Bikes

Find the Cheapest Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Your Area

Currently insured?
{"id":6,"isAgeFieldVisible":true,"isInsuranceTypeFieldVisible":true,"isInsuredStatusFieldVisible":true,"customEventLabel":"","defaultZip":"","defaultProduct":"motorcycle","quoteWizardEndpoint":"https:\/\/quotes.valuepenguin.com","trackingKey":"_arizona-moped-scooter-insurance-law","title":"Find the Cheapest Motorcycle Insurance Quotes in Your Area","vendor":"vp"}

Mopeds, scooters and electric bicycles, also called e-bikes, are all treated differently under Arizona law. If you own or ride one of these in Arizona, make sure you know how your vehicle is classified and which laws you need to follow.

Vehicle typeLicense requiredRegistration requiredInsurance requiredWhere can I ride it?
MopedYes (any class)YesYesRoads only
Motorized/electric bicycleNoNoNoRoads/bike paths
Scooter (motor-driven cycle)Motorcycle licenseYesYesRoads only
E-scooterNoNoNoRoads/bike paths

Arizona moped laws

In Arizona, a vehicle is considered a moped if it meets all of the following criteria:

  • 50cc or less
  • 1.5 brake horsepower or less
  • 25 mph maximum speed on flat ground
  • Two or three wheels
  • Pedals

In Arizona, a moped is considered a type of motorcycle. However, moped riders don't need a motorcycle-specific license to ride one; a regular driver's license will suffice. You'll need to get moped insurance and register your moped, but you don't need a title proving you own the vehicle.

Moped regulations

License required?Do I need liability insurance?Do I need to register it?Do I need a title?
Yes, any classYesYesNo

Arizona electric and motorized bicycle laws

Electric and motorized bicycles are typically considered regular bicycles in Arizona, so long as they are under a certain power threshold. You don't need a license to operate one, and they don't need to be registered, titled or insured.

Motorized and electric bicycle regulations

License required?Do I need liability insurance?Do I need to register it?Do I need a title?
NoNoNoNo

Electric bicycles

Arizona uses a three-class system to categorize electric bicycles:

  • Class 1: Pedal-assist electric motor. Top propulsion speed of 20 mph.
  • Class 2: Electric motor controlled with a throttle. Top propulsion speed of 20 mph.
  • Class 3: Pedal-assist electric motor. Top propulsion speed of 28 mph.

Class 1 and 2 electric bikes can be used on bike paths, while class 3 bikes may not. All electric bikes are required to have a manufacturer-installed label indicating its class, top speed and wattage. The maximum wattage for all electric bikes in Arizona is 750 watts.

Gasoline-powered motorized bicycles

A bicycle with a gasoline-powered motor is also generally considered a bicycle, so long as it meets all of the following requirements:

  • 48cc engine or less
  • 20 mph maximum speed

Just like with electric bikes, you don't need insurance or a license to ride a gasoline-powered motorized bicycle, and it doesn't need to be registered. However, if your bike goes over the maximum limits listed above, it may be considered a moped or motorcycle instead.

Arizona scooter and motor-driven cycle laws

In Arizona, scooters are categorized as either motor-driven cycles or regular motorcycles. If your scooter has an engine under 5 horsepower, it's a motor-driven cycle; otherwise, it's a regular motorcycle.

You still need a motorcycle license to drive a motor scooter on Arizona roads, regardless of how powerful its engine is, and you must register your vehicle with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division. However, if you take your motorcycle license test using a vehicle that has an engine under 5 horsepower, you'll be limited to driving these smaller vehicles.

Additionally, motor-driven cycles may not be permitted on some Arizona highways due to their lower speeds.

Regardless of whether your scooter is considered a motor-driven cycle or a motorcycle, you must wear eye protection unless your vehicle has a windshield. However, only minors are required to wear helmets.

Motor-driven cycle/scooter regulations

License required?Do I need liability insurance?Do I need to register it?Do I need a title?
Yes (motorcycle license only)YesYesNo

Laws for e-scooters

An electric scooter that weighs less than 75 pounds, has handlebars and an electric motor, and can go no faster than 25 miles per hour is considered an "electric standup scooter." It's considered an "electric miniature scooter" if it weighs less than 30 pounds with a maximum speed of 10 miles per hour.

Both of these devices are subject to the same regulations as bicycles and e-bikes: You don't need a license or registration to ride one, and insurance isn't required either. This category includes standing scooters by companies like Lime and Bird.

E-scooter regulations

License required?Do I need liability insurance?Do I need to register it?Do I need a title?
NoNoNoNo

Laws for other motorized vehicles

In addition to scooters, mopeds and motorized bicycles, there are many similar types of vehicles that are also regulated by Arizona law.

VehicleLicense requiredDescription
MotorcycleMotorcycle licenseTwo- or three-wheeled vehicle with an engine too powerful to fall into the above categories.
AutocycleAny driver's licenseThree-wheeled vehicle with seat belts, a roll cage and a steering wheel.
Motorized skateboardNo license requiredElectric skateboard with a standing deck but no seat or handlebars.
Electric personal assistive mobility deviceNo license required—considered a pedestrianSelf-balancing device with one wheel or two noninline wheels. Includes Onewheels and hoverboards.

Do you need insurance for a moped or scooter in Arizona?

Officially, you need liability insurance for every "motor vehicle" in Arizona. However, just because a vehicle has a motor doesn't automatically make it a motor vehicle. As a general rule, if you need a license to drive it or the vehicle must be registered with the MVD, it needs insurance, just like insuring a motorcycle; if not, insurance may not be required.

See below for which vehicles do and do not need liability insurance coverage in order to drive on a public road.

Insurance requiredInsurance not required
MotorcycleE-bike
Scooter/motor-driven cycleMotorized gas-powered bicycle
MopedMotorized skateboards and e-scooters
Autocycle

For vehicles that require liability protection, you must have at least the following amount of coverage:

  • $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $10,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident

Comments and Questions

Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.