Find the Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Your Area
Wyoming drivers must maintain proof of financial responsibility to comply with Wyoming’s Compulsory Liability Insurance and Financial Responsibility Law. You can purchase liability auto insurance, or an alternate form of financial responsibility, in order to meet the state’s requirements.
Wyoming Required Car Insurance Coverage
|WY Required Min. Limits|
Bodily Injury (BI)
|$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident|
Property Damage (PD)
|$20,000 per accident|
Wyoming Car Insurance Requirements & Minimum
To meet Wyoming’s Financial Responsibility requirements, you must purchase auto insurance with Bodily Injury Liability coverage, Property Damage Liability coverage, and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Bodily Injury Coverage that meet or exceed the following limits:
Bodily Injury (BI): Drivers in Wyoming must purchase BI limits of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, but some Wyomingites choose to purchase higher limits of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident. If you are liable for an accident, BI will pay for the medical expenses of the passengers injured in the other car. Your BI coverage can also pay for the injured party’s lost wages and the cost of any legal fees or judgements against you, up to your policy’s limits.
Property Damage (PD): Property Damage liability coverage will pay for the cost to repair any property damage that resulted from an accident for which you were deemed liable. If you are liable for a crash that damaged a fence, another person’s or a business’ property, or another car, your PD coverage will pay for the cost of repairs up to your coverage limit. Wyoming drivers must purchase PD limits of $20,000, but most Wyomingites choose to purchase higher PD limits of $100,000.
In Wyoming, police officers are required to ask for proof of insurance if they pull you over for a traffic stop. You can show you're financially responsible with a certificate or an ID card issued by your auto insurer. Electronic proof of insurance will not be accepted by police officers, but an electronic form of an SR-22 certificate (if you're required to carry it) will be accepted.
Optional Car Insurance Coverage in Wyoming
Wyoming drivers can further protect their assets by adding on extra coverage beyond the minimum required liability types. You can reject these optional coverages in writing, but most drivers feel safer with extra protection.
Uninsured / Underinsured Motorists Bodily Injury (UMBI/UIMBI): Compared to the rest of the United States, Wyoming has relatively few uninsured motorists. With 8.7% of Wyoming drivers uninsured, Wyomingites can purchase UMBI/UIMBI limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 for two or more people in an accident. If you’re in an accident with a driver who does not have auto insurance or a hit and run, your UMBI coverage will pay for the medical costs of your personal injuries (as well as injuries of your passengers). In the case of an accident with a driver whose BI limits are less than your UIMBI coverage, your UIMBI coverage will pay the difference of the liable party’s policy up to your purchased limits to cover the medical costs of your personal injuries. Most Wyoming drivers tend to stick with the basic limits of UMBI/UIMBI.
Physical Damage: Collision and Comprehensive Coverage make up physical damage protection. Most Wyoming drivers go with deductibles of $500 for collision coverage and a deductible of $100 for comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage will pay for repairs for damage to your car resulting from a crash, regardless of your liability. Comprehensive coverage will pay for repairs to your car for damages resulting from any other kind of incident.
Medical Payments Coverage (MedPay): MedPay coverage pays for any medical and funeral expenses resulting from an auto accident, regardless of your liability. MedPay will pay for care such as doctor visits, hospital visits and stays, EMT and ambulance fees, and more. It is common for Wyoming drivers to purchase MedPay coverage of a $5,000 limit.
Alternative Proof of Financial Responsibility
If you do not want to buy auto insurance, you can choose one of the following alternatives to comply with Wyoming’s Financial Responsibility Law:
- Deposit of money or securities: You can deposit $25,000 with the Wyoming Treasurer in the form of money or securities as alternate proof of financial responsibility.
- Surety bond: a surety bond states that a surety company will cover all costs and claims against you in the case of an auto accident, as long as you eventually reimburse the surety company after the fact.
- Self-Insurance: you qualify to be a self-insurer if you have more than 25 vehicles registered in your name. To receive a certificate for self-insurance, you must file cash, securities, or a surety bond in the amount of $200,000 plus $100 for each car in excess of the 25 vehicles you are covering.