Who Has the Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Utah? (2023)

Who Has the Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Utah? (2023)

Auto-Owners has the best cheap car insurance in Utah, at $492 per year, or $41 per month, for minimum liability quotes.

Currently insured?
It's free, simple and secure.

Best cheap car insurance in Utah

To determine the best cheap car insurance in Utah, our editorial team compared quotes from top companies across every ZIP code in the state.

Quotes for minimum coverage meet the UT state minimum requirements of $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person and $65,000 per accident, $15,000 in property damage protection and $3,000 in personal injury protection. Full coverage quotes include higher liability limits than the state minimums, along with comprehensive and collision protection.

Additionally, we rated the best auto insurance companies in Utah based on affordability for different drivers, coverage availability, customer service reviews and convenience.

The average cost of car insurance in Utah is $66 per month, or $792 per year, for minimum liability.

Cheapest car insurance quotes in Utah: Auto-Owners

Auto-Owners has the cheapest minimum-coverage car insurance in Utah, followed by Farm Bureau and State Farm. Auto-Owners' rate of $41 per month is 38% cheaper than the state average.

Cheapest car insurance companies in Utah

Find Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Utah

Currently insured?
No spam. No hassle. No hidden costs.

Those who are eligible should also get car insurance quotes from USAA. It's only available for military members, veterans and their families, but it's the cheapest company in Utah, at $35 per month.

Cheapest UT car insurance companies

Company
Monthly rate
Auto-Owners logo
Auto-Owners$41
Farm Bureau logo
Farm Bureau$44
State Farm logo
State Farm$47
Progressive logo
Progressive$66
Geico logo
Geico$75
Show All Rows

*USAA is only available to current and former military members and their families.

If you only want to meet Utah state law requirements and get the cheapest car insurance policy possible, you should get a minimum-coverage policy. In Utah, minimum-coverage requirements include liability insurance and personal injury protection. But most drivers should consider purchasing higher liability limits or additional coverage to ensure you're fully protected after an accident.

Cheapest full-coverage car insurance in Utah: Auto-Owners

Auto-Owners has the cheapest full-coverage car insurance in Utah, at $95 per month. State Farm is the second cheapest company at just $1 more per month.

Show All Rows

*USAA is only available to current and former military members and their families.

Full coverage car insurance in Utah costs an average of $1,653 per year or $138 per month.

Liability insurance only covers damage or injury to others if you're at fault in an accident. Comprehensive and collision insurance — part of a full-coverage policy — covers damage to your own car.

Cheapest car insurance for Utah drivers with prior incidents

Find Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Utah

Currently insured?
No spam. No hassle. No hidden costs.

Insurance companies use a variety of factors to determine your insurance estimates, including your driving history. Having an accident or ticket means you'll likely receive higher quotes than drivers with a clean driving history.

Cheapest Utah car insurance quotes with a ticket: Auto-Owners

Auto-Owners has the cheapest car insurance rates for a Utah driver caught speeding, at $95 per month for a full-coverage policy. That's $10 per month less than State Farm, the second-cheapest company.

Company
Monthly rate
Auto-Owners$95
State Farm$105
Farm Bureau$133
Progressive$161
American Family$184
Show All Rows

Cheapest UT car insurance after an accident: State Farm

State Farm is the cheapest insurance company in Utah after an at-fault accident. State Farm's rate, $114 per month, is $97 per month cheaper than the state average.

Company
Monthly rate
State Farm$114
Auto-Owners$150
Farm Bureau$181
Progressive$190
American Family$229
Show All Rows

Having an accident on your driving record shows insurance companies you might be a risky driver. That means most insurance companies raise your quotes by an average of 53% in Utah if you've caused a car crash. State Farm is the cheapest company, which only raises rates by 19% after an at-fault accident.

Cheapest car insurance quotes after a DUI in Utah: Farm Bureau

State Farm has Utah's cheapest auto insurance rates if you have a DUI on your record, $133 per month on average. That's 41% less than the state average.

In Utah, DUIs can more than double your insurance rate, depending on the company. To limit this massive price increase, comparing quotes from multiple companies after a change in your driving record is important.

Cheapest Utah DUI car insurance

Company
Monthly rate
Farm Bureau$133
Progressive$150
American Family$184
Allstate$238
Auto-Owners$246
Show All Rows

Cheapest car insurance for UT drivers with poor credit: Progressive

Progressive has the best quotes for Utah drivers with poor credit, at $204 per month. Farm Bureau is the second-most affordable company, at $220 per month.

Drivers with poor credit tend to pay an average 94% more for auto insurance in Utah than drivers with good credit. Although credit ratings don't correlate with driving ability, insurance companies have found that drivers with lower credit scores tend to file more insurance claims.

Cheapest Utah car insurance companies for poor credit

Company
Monthly rate
Progressive$204
Farm Bureau$220
American Family$258
Auto-Owners$258
Geico$286
Show All Rows

Cheapest car insurance for young drivers in Utah: Farm Bureau

Farm Bureau has the cheapest rates in Utah for 18-year-old drivers. Its rates of $126 per month for minimum coverage are 43% cheaper than the next-cheapest quotes. State Farm is the cheapest option for full coverage at $294 per month.

Unfortunately for young people, inexperience means much higher prices. New drivers are among the most likely to be involved in a car accident and, as a result, pay higher rates for car insurance to account for that risk.

The average 18-year-old in Utah pays more than three times more for a minimum-coverage car insurance policy than the average 30-year-old.

Cheapest Utah car insurance companies for teens

Company
Liability only
Full coverage
Farm Bureau$126$319
State Farm$153$294
Auto-Owners$173$343
Geico$213$431
Progressive$233$613
Show All Rows

After comparing rates from multiple companies, you might still find that your quotes aren't affordable. To cut down your costs:

  • Ask your parents if you can join their policy. Having a combined insurance policy with your parents is usually much less expensive than purchasing two separate policies.
  • Ask about potential discounts. You could save with discounts for getting good grades, attending safe driving classes and having a safe car.
  • Cut coverage you don't need. If you have a beater car that's not worth much, you might not need collision and comprehensive coverage. And you won't need roadside assistance if you have a brand-new car because the warranty typically covers that.

Cheapest car insurance for UT teen drivers after a ticket: Farm Bureau

Farm Bureau is Utah's cheapest option for young drivers after a speeding ticket. The annual rate of $143 per year is 44% cheaper than the next-cheapest company, State Farm.

Company
Monthly rate
Farm Bureau$143
State Farm$170
Auto-Owners$173
Progressive$245
Geico$251
Show All Rows

Cheapest auto insurance for young drivers in Utah after an accident: State Farm

State Farm is Utah's top option for 18-year-olds looking for the cheapest rates after an accident. The company charges an average of $187 per month— 38% lower than the state average.

Young drivers who have been in an accident may face rates that are 38% higher, on average. That makes it more important to compare rates from multiple companies.

Company
Monthly rate
State Farm$187
Farm Bureau$196
Auto-Owners$254
Progressive$264
Geico$342
Show All Rows

Cheapest car insurance quotes for married drivers: Auto-Owners

Auto-Owners is the cheapest full-coverage insurance if you're a married driver in Utah, despite not providing a married discount. The company's rate is $95 per month for married drivers.

Married drivers are typically charged slightly cheaper quotes than single drivers. On average, married drivers spend 5% less per year on car insurance. Progressive offered the largest discount at 15%.

Company
Monthly rate per car
Auto-Owners$95
State Farm$96
Progressive$107
Farm Bureau$115
American Family$133
Show All Rows

Best car insurance companies in Utah

State Farm is the best company for Utah drivers, based on strong customer service scores. Auto-Owners and Farm Bureau are also some of the best Utah car insurance companies.

Utah drivers looking for cheap car insurance shouldn't focus exclusively on affordability. You should also aim to be covered by a company with a stellar customer service reputation. After a car accident, the last thing you want is a long or frustrating claims process that could delay getting your car fixed and back on the road.

Best Utah car insurance

Company
Editor's rating.
J.D. Power
AM Best.
Farm Bureau
NRA
USAA
881A++
State Farm
842A++
Auto-Owners
837A++
Geico
835A++
Show All Rows

Average car insurance cost in Utah by city

Moab, a rural town near Arches National Park, has the cheapest car insurance quotes in Utah, at an average of $124 per month for full coverage. The most expensive city in the state for insurance is Kearns, a small town near Salt Lake City, at $163 per month.

Factors like road quality, car theft rates and traffic density can change your insurance rates, depending on where you live. Average insurance prices in Utah may range by $39 per month.

City
Average monthly cost
Percent from average
Alpine$1466%
Altamont$134-3%
Alton$129-6%
Altonah$135-2%
American Fork$1434%
Show All Rows

Minimum auto insurance requirements in Utah

Utah drivers looking for the cheapest possible quotes can get a minimum-coverage policy, with limits that include a small amount of personal injury protection and are often written as 25/65/15. This policy only fulfills the requirements Utah mandates for a car insurance policy.

Coverage

UT minimum limits

Bodily injury (BI) liability

$25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident

Property damage (PD) liability

$15,000 per accident

Personal injury protection (PIP)

$3,000 per accident

In Utah, PIP coverage contains two parts: a $3,000 limit covering necessary medical expenses and any related rehab needed and a $1,500 funeral allowance if a covered driver or passenger dies from the accident. If someone covered under the policy dies as a result of the accident, the $3,000 coverage will instead be given to their heirs, per Utah law.

Although you are not required to purchase higher limits than the state requires, drivers with new or expensive vehicles or a long commute should compare policies with extra protection, like collision and comprehensive coverage.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best price for car insurance in Utah?

The best average price for minimum coverage in Utah is $41 per month from Auto-Owners. The company also has the best price for full coverage, at $95 per month.

How much will I spend on car insurance in Utah?

The average price for a minimum-coverage policy in Utah is $66 per month. However, we found much cheaper rates from Auto-Owners and Farm Bureau.

How much is car insurance in Utah per month?

The average monthly cost of car insurance in Utah is $66 for a minimum-coverage policy and $138 for full coverage.

Why is car insurance so expensive in Utah?

Utah's average insurance price of $138 per year for full coverage makes it the 22nd-cheapest state for car insurance. Minimum coverage rates are more expensive, at $66 per month, possibly because the state has higher minimum limits than average. Your rates might be higher if you live near a large city with lots of traffic or poor roads.

What kind of car insurance do I need in Utah?

You're required to have $25,000/$65,000 of bodily injury liability and $15,000 in property damage coverage in Utah. You also need at least $3,000 of personal injury protection, as Utah is a no-fault state.

Methodology

We collected thousands of rates from ZIP codes across Utah for the state's largest auto insurance companies. Rates are for a 30-year-old man with a 2015 Honda Civic EX and good credit.

For minimum-coverage policies, coverage matches the minimum required limits in Utah. Full coverage policies, which are the base policy used unless otherwise noted, include more liability and PIP than the minimum requirements, as well as comprehensive and collision coverage.

Coverage type
Study limits
Bodily injury liability$50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident
Personal injury protection$10,000
Property damage liability$25,000 per accident
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury$50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident
Comprehensive and collision$500 deductible

ValuePenguin's analysis used insurance rate data from Quadrant Information Services. These rates were publicly sourced from insurer filings and should be used for comparative purposes only — your own quotes may be different.

Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.