Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Hawaii
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Hawaii
To keep roads safe for motorists and pedestrians alike, the State of Hawaii has two auto insurance laws and a long list of harsh penalties for those who violate them. Sanctions include fines of up to $5,000, community service of up to 275 hours, license suspension for up to two years, vehicle impoundment and even jail time up to 30 days. On top of that, your Hawaii auto insurance rates will likely increase as a result of this record.
Type of Penalty
Multiple Convictions within 5 years
|$500||$1,500 to $5,000||$1,500 to $5,000|
Community Service Alternative
|75 to 100 hours in lieu of fine||200 to 275 hours||200 to 275 hours|
|N/A||N/A||Suspension or revocation of registration plates.|
|3 months or until proof of insurance provided||1 year or until proof of insurance provided||1 year or until proof of insurance provided|
|N/A||N/A||Not more than 30 days|
|3 years for each offense|
Penalties for driving uninsured in Hawaii
Hawaii's Compulsory Liability Insurance Law requires you to carry liability coverage with minimum limits of 20/40/10 whenever you’re on the road. You should be able to produce the proper proof of insurance when requested at a traffic stop or during a vehicle safety inspection. Violating the Hawaii auto insurance requirement is considered a traffic violation, which in turn, removes you from the roadways when your driving privileges are suspended.
Even if this is your first time getting caught driving uninsured, you can expect to face serious sanctions. First, you will be fined no less than $500. Secondly, your license will be suspended for three months.
The state, however, gives you a chance to lighten your monetary penalties and even keep your driver’s license. In lieu of paying the fine, you may be able to perform community service for 75 to 100 hours, for a first-time insurance offense. The court may also waive your suspension if you agree to buy a nonrefundable insurance policy that covers your car for at least the next six months in the Aloha State.
If this is not your first time but the second or more, repeated within five years since your previous conviction, the penalties become more severe. This time around, you will be charged a heavier fine, ranging from $1,500 to $5,000. You can still choose the community service alternative, but the equivalent amount of time you’ll need to put in is 200 to 275 hours. Your license suspension period will also grow to one full year.
Multiple convictions within five years
Hawaii imposes even stiffer penalties if you're found to be a habitual offender of their laws. If your record shows multiple records of driving without insurance within a five-year period (the law doesn't specify a number for the "multiple records"), Hawaii will add more unforgiving penalties on top of the stated penalties, as it no longer considers the repeat insurance violation a mere traffic violation. You may suffer prison time for 30 days, have your registration plates suspended or revoked, and if the court sees fit, your motor vehicle can be impounded.
Caught without insurance in an accident
If you are not able to present proof of insurance at the time the accident report is filed, your license will be suspended for two years. If you’re not able to compensate for the damages you may have caused the other party, your registration will be revoked.
To reinstate your Hawaii driver’s license, you will need to buy an auto insurance policy that meets at least the state’s coverage requirements or have your insurer file an SR-22, which you will need to maintain for the next three years. You will have to submit both a Reinstatement Request and your proof of insurance to your closest DMV.
There is a $20 license reinstatement fee, and you may need to retake the necessary driver’s examinations. That includes taking the knowledge test ($2) and the road skills test ($10).
Your revoked registration can be renewed for a base rate of $45 plus a county rate that costs between $10 and $12.
Re-applying for auto insurance in Hawaii
Insurance companies use your driving record to evaluate whether you’re worth insuring or not, and calculate your car insurance cost. Documented violations serve as clear warning signals. If your poor driving history is getting you denied from insurers in the mainstream market, Hawaii’s Joint Underwriting Plan can help. With the State’s assistance, you can obtain the appropriate car insurance even if you’re branded a high-risk driver.
- Hawaii Legislature: penalties
- Hawaii Legislature: suspension to continue until judgments paid and proof given
- Hawaii Vehicle Registration and Licensing Division: licensing fees
Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.