Find the Cheapest Insurance Quotes in Your Area
North Dakota passed its Compulsory Liability Insurance Law and Financial Responsibility Law in order to protect drivers and pedestrians alike. Registered motorists who drive without proof of liability insurance are viewed as potential risks on the roads and subject to Class B Misdemeanor penalties. Penalties include a $5,000 fine, jail time for 30 days, and license suspension for an indefinite period of time. Another consequence of driving uninsured is higher North Dakota auto insurance rates.
|Type of Penalty||First Offense||Next Offenses within 1 year|
|Fine||$150 to $1,000||$300 to $5,000|
|License Suspension||Suspended until proof of insurance shown||Suspended until proof of insurance shown|
|License Plate||N/A||Removal of plates|
|License Reinstatement Fee||$50||$50|
|Other Fees||$10 total for retaking the driver's license test; $20 court fee||$10 total for retaking the driver's license test; $20 court fee|
|SR-22||1 year||1 year|
Penalties for Driving Uninsured in North Dakota
North Dakota motorists must make sure that their vehicle meets the state’s required minimum car insurance limits of 25/50/25 before hitting the road. You are expected to present proof of your liability insurance the day you apply for your car’s registration. Police officers are authorized to validate everyone’s insurance compliance by requesting proof of insurance at checkpoints, or when you are pulled over for other traffic violations. Your inability to present evidence of financial security in one of the acceptable forms -– an insurance card, a policy binder, or an application of insurance with your policy number –- means you may be cited for driving without insurance. In North Dakota, driving uninsured is a Class B Misdemeanor.
For your first offense, you can be charged a fine ranging from $150 to $1,000. Your license will be suspended indefinitely until you can produce acceptable proof of being insured.
Second & Subsequent Offenses
If your violation of the Compulsory Liability Insurance Law and the Financial Responsibility Law is repeated within a year of your previous conviction, the penalties will escalate. You will be charged a steeper fine, with a minimum of $300 and a maximum of $5,000. You may also need to serve a jail term of 30 days -- that's the criminal penalties part for being guilty of a Class B Misdemeanor. Your license will be suspended indefinitely until you can come to court and prove you have insurance.
Your license suspension can only end after you’ve provided the court with a valid and current proof of liability coverage, satisfy any judgments, and pay reinstatement fees. Reinstatement requirements also include getting your insurer to file a SR-22 with the director of the Department of Transportation.
There are a couple of fees you need to settle: a $50 license reinstatement fee and a $20 court fee. Courts in North Dakota may also make you re-take a driving knowledge test, which costs $5, and a driving skills test for another $5.
Restricted License After Suspension for No Proof of Insurance
Note that when you are reinstating your license from a no-insurance suspension, the director of the Department of Transportation may put certain restrictions on your license.
Depending the type of SR-22 your insurer filed for you, your newly reinstated license may only be valid to drive the particular vehicle listed/covered on the policy. This kind of policy is usually referred to as the owner policy, which follows the car and provides coverage for the car owner and whoever drives it with the owner’s permission. If you are expecting to be driving more than one vehicle, you should purchase an operator policy instead. This second kind is usually purchased by drivers who do not own a car, but want to driver other people's cars. When your SR-22 shows that you have an operator policy, there will be no restriction on the reinstated license in terms of vehicles you are allowed to use the license for.
Re-applying for an Auto Insurance in North Dakota
Standard insurance carriers would normally deny coverage to drivers with poor driving histories, as seen on their driving records. If you are having trouble finding coverage in the voluntary insurance market, you may try reaching out to the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan (ND AIP). Insurers licensed in North Dakota have the right to reject high-risk drivers who apply through the voluntary market. The ND AIP will place drivers into North Dakota's residual auto insurance market, where insurers are obligated to provide coverage.
North Dakota Legislature: criminal procedure for driving without liability insurance
North Dakota Department of Transportation: reinstatement fees
North Dakota Legislature: 39.16.1-09 restriction upon driver's license