Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Nevada

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Nevada

Driving without car insurance in Nevada is considered a misdemeanor. If caught without it, you'll have to pay a fine ranging from $250–$1,000 along with a license reinstatement fee up to $750.

It's much easier to buy a Nevada auto insurance policy than to face the penalties.

Penalties for driving uninsured in Nevada

All Nevada drivers are required to carry liability coverage with the following minimum coverage limits:

  • $25,000 for bodily injuries per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injuries per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage

There are two ways you might be caught driving without insurance: You can't show proof of coverage when a law enforcement officer asks for it, or the state's electronic database flags you in the system. Nevada's penalties for driving while uninsured are based partly on the number of days you've let your coverage lapse and whether you've been convicted of this offense before.

Nevada's verification program and law enforcement

Nevada's department of motor vehicles maintains an electronic database — "Liability Insurance Validation Electronically" (LIVE) system — to track registered vehicles and insurance policies. Insurers must report any lapsed policies to the DMV, which will then contact the owner. If you receive a notice, you should send a verification response form within 15 days.

If you're stopped by a police officer and can't show proof of coverage — such as a valid insurance ID card or the declaration page of your active policy — then the officer will report you to the LIVE system. You'll get a notice here, too.

Penalties for a first offense

If it's your first offense and your coverage has lapsed for up to 30 days, Nevada will suspend your driving privileges but won't charge a fine. A lapse of 31–90 days will result in a $250 fee, while you'll pay a $500 fee if your coverage has lapsed for 91–180 days. After that point, the fine rises to $1,000.

You'll need to surrender your driver's license until you can send proof of insurance to the DMV. If your coverage lapsed beyond 91 days, your insurer will also need to file an SR-22 form on your behalf before you can reinstate your driving privileges. The form will need to stay on file for at least three years.

First offense lapse

1–30 days
31–90 days
91–180 days
181+ days

Fine

N/A$250$500$1,000

Driving privilege

Suspended until proof of insurance is providedSuspended until SR-22 filed

Reinstatement fee

$251$251

SR-22

N/AMaintain for 3 years

Penalties for a second offense

Repeating the violation within five years after your first conviction will lead to stiffer penalties. For the second round, you'll pay a $500 fine if you've gone uninsured for 31–180 days and $1,000 if the lapse goes 181 days or more. The state will hold your driver's license until you purchase insurance coverage and send proof to the DMV. An SR-22 will also be required if the lapse goes beyond 90 days.

Second offense lapse

1–30 days
31–90 days
91–180 days
181+ days

Fine

N/A$500$500$1,000

Driving privilege

Suspended until proof of insurance is providedSuspended until SR-22 filed

Reinstatement fee

$501$501

SR-22

N/AMaintain for 3 years

Penalties for a third offense

If you receive a third violation (or more), the state tags you a habitual offender — especially if the offenses all occur within five years. If you're caught driving without insurance for up to 90 days, you'll pay a $500 fine. That climbs to $750 if the lapse is 91–180 days and to $1,000 beyond 180 days.

Additionally, the state will suspend your license for 30 days — even if you've secured proof of insurance.

On your third offense (and beyond), your insurance company will need to file an SR-22, regardless of the number of days your insurance lapsed. The form will need to stay on file for three years. If your policy lapses within that time frame, the state will add another three years to your SR-22 requirement.

Third offense lapse

1–30 days
31–90 days
91–180 days
181+ days

Fine

N/A$500$750$1,000

Driving privilege

Suspended for at least 30 days, regardless of number of days insurance has lapsed

Reinstatement fee

$751

SR-22

Maintain for 3 years

License reinstatement requirements

As soon as you have proof of insurance and an SR-22 on file, you can begin the process of reclaiming your driving privileges. The reinstatement fee is $250 for first-time offenders, $500 for second-time offenders, and $750 for third-time or habitual offenders. Each reinstatement fee also comes with a $1 technology fee. And in addition to paying these expenses, you must fill out and file a notarized Declaration of Responsibility with the DMV.

Re-applying for auto insurance in Nevada

After clearing those financial hurdles, you still must contend with your driving record. After one or more driving-without-insurance convictions, you may be seen as a high-risk driver — and insurance companies might not want to sell you a policy. If you're shopping for car insurance and run into this dilemma, the Nevada Automobile Insurance Plan (NV AIP) may offer you a policy so you can comply with the laws.

Sources:

  • Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles: Penalties
  • Nevada Legislature: Proof required before reinstatement

Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.

SR-22 Insurance

An SR-22 form is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves a driver has the minimum required auto insurance. You only need an SR-22 if your state or court orders you to get one — typically after a major driving violation.

Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance

Compare SR-22 Quotes and Find Cheap Coverage

{"backgroundColor":"ice","content":"\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003E\u003Cstrong\u003ESR-22 Insurance\u003C\/strong\u003E\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003EAn SR-22 form is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves a driver has the minimum required auto insurance. You only need an SR-22 if your state or court orders you to get one \u2014 typically after a major driving violation.\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003E\u003Cspan\u003E\u003Ca data-eventcategory=\"Penalties Sidebar\" data-eventlabel=\"non-owner\" class=\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black js-event-click\" title=\"Cost of Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance\" href=\"https:\/\/www.valuepenguin.com\/non-owner-sr22-car-insurance\"\u003ECost of Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance\u003C\/a\u003E\u003C\/span\u003E\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003E\u003Cspan\u003E\u003Ca data-eventcategory=\"Penalties Sidebar\" data-eventlabel=\"compare sr-22 quotes\" class=\"ShortcodeLink--root ShortcodeLink--black js-event-click\" title=\"Compare SR-22 Quotes and Find Cheap Coverage\" href=\"https:\/\/www.valuepenguin.com\/sr-22-auto-insurance\"\u003ECompare SR-22 Quotes and Find Cheap Coverage\u003C\/a\u003E\u003C\/span\u003E\u003C\/p\u003E\n\n\u003Cp\u003E","padding":"normal"}