According to the Idaho Code for Motor Vehicles Financial Responsibility, all drivers are required to buy a basic car insurance policy. Driving without coverage is considered an infraction or a misdemeanor — so if you violate the code, you could be on the hook for fines, license suspension and even jail time.
Penalties for driving uninsured in Idaho
As an Idaho driver, you are required to buy a car insurance policy that includes at least $25,000 for bodily injuries per person and $50,000 per accident, along with $15,000 for property damage.
To monitor compliance, law enforcement officers can either ask for proof of coverage at traffic stops or confirm the status of your policy through the state's Online Insurance Verification System. If you're caught without insurance through either method, you could face the following penalties:
Type of penalty
Second and subsequent offenses
|$75||Up to $1,000|
|Administrative fees||Total $56.50||N/A|
|Imprisonment||N/A||Up to 6 months or a combination of jail time and fine|
|SR-22 maintenance||1 year||3 years|
|Driving privilege||License suspension until proof of insurance is provided for each offense|
|Reinstatement fee||$85 for each offense|
The first time you're caught driving while uninsured is considered a traffic infraction. You'll need to appear in court and pay a fine along with several administrative fees:
- $75 fine
- $85 license reinstatement fee
- $16.50 court fee
- $5 county justice fund fee
- $15 police officers training fee
- $10 technology fund fee
- $10 emergency surcharge
The state will also suspend your driver's license until you can provide proof of coverage, either with a car insurance ID card or an SR-22 form filed by your insurer with the Idaho Transportation Department. The SR-22 must stay on file for one year.
Second and later offenses
If you violate this law again within five years, it's now treated as a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, you may be required to serve jail time for up to six months, pay a fee of up to $1,000 or both. The state will also suspend your license until you have fulfilled all of your penalties.
To get your driving privileges back, you'll need to complete your penalty period and appear in court with proof of insurance coverage. This time around, your SR-22 filing will need to be on file for three years. After paying the $85 reinstatement fee and securing the official receipts for the administrative fees, your license suspension will be lifted.
Re-applying for auto insurance in Idaho
Drivers with a history of convictions on their driving records are, more often than not, considered high-risk drivers by insurance companies. If you're having trouble finding an Idaho car insurance policy, you can apply for coverage through the Idaho Automobile Insurance Plan.